GM Norm for Ramnath Bhuvanesh and Swapnil S Dhopade, seven share lead

GM Norm for Ramnath Bhuvanesh and Swapnil S Dhopade, seven share lead

International Master Ramnath Bhuvanesh (7.0) held fellow Indian International Master Swapnil Dhopade to a draw in the ninth round, securing his second Grandmaster Norm in the 7th Chennai International Open Grandmaster Chess Tournament at Nehru Stadium, Chennai here today. Ramnath Bhuvanesh with 7.0 points now shares the lead with six other players viz., Popov Ivan (Russia), Dzhumaev Marat (Uzbekistan), Mozharov Mikhail (Russia), Swapnil S Dhopade (India), Gasanov Eldar (Ukraine) and Ravichandran Siddharth (India).

Trailing the leaders by half a point at 6.5 points were Cruz Cristhian (Peru), Brunello Sabino (Italy), Baryshpolets Andrey (Ukraine), Nguyen Duc Hoa (Vietnam), Karthikeyan Murali, Das Sayantan, Prasanna Raghuram Rao, Visakh N R (all India).

Needing a draw for a Grandmaster Norm, Ramnath Bhuvanesh, got just that, in the nick of the time. For, the second board Trompovsky game went to the wire, when both the players were down to last three minutes. But, Ramnath held his nerve pushing Swapnil to repeat the moves, splitting the point after 33 moves. Ramnath adds this second GM Norm to the first one he achieved in Abu Dhabi last year.

The crucial final round deciding the top prizes is scheduled for 10am tomorrow. Please find attached the invitation for the prize distribution function scheduled at 4 PM tomorrow.

Category “A” – Main Results Round 9 (Indians unless specified) :

Dzhumaev Marat (Uzb) 7 drew with Mozharov Mikhail (Rus) 7, Swapnil S Dhopade (7) drew with Ramnath Bhuvanesh R (7), Cruz Cristhian (Per) 6.5 drew with Popov Ivan (Rus) 7, Cruz Jonathan (Per) 6 lost to Gasanov Eldar (Ukr) 7, Ravichandran Siddharth (7) bt Deepan Chakkravarthy J (6), Stany G A (5.5) lost to Brunello Sabino (Ita) 6.5, Baryshpolets Andrey (Ukr) 6.5 bt Karthikeyan P (5.5), Nguyen Duc Hoa (Vie) 6.5 bt Vignesh N R (5.5), Rathnakaran K (6) drew with Neverov Valeriy (Ukr) 6, Karthikeyan Murali (6.5) bt Sharma Dinesh K (5.5)